On June 21, 2017, Snapchat released a major new feature called “Snap Map.” These new feature allows Snapchat users to see where their friends are at in real time.
Snap Map lets you share your real-time location, which your friends can view on an interactive map that’s precise enough to show not only which street you’re on, but whereabouts you are on that street too.
While a lot of people are extremely excited by the new Snap Map feature, many others have expressed privacy concerns about the new Map function:
Snapchat has introduced a new tracker in the update where you can view the exact location of your friends. It can give you the area, town, and street and if you zoom in enough, it shows the house on the street layout.
Please Share this to make people are aware, snapchat has a lot of young users on, if your children are on please check that they have there location set to Ghost mode, that way no one can see where they are.
To do this make sure app is the updated version and go to selfie mode on the camera. Then zoom out. It will give you the option of changing to who can see your location.
The warning above isn’t really accurate and reflects a warning from a person who has not spent time analyzing the true functionality. There is no valid reason for parents to be concerned. It is both possible to opt out of the service and to never authorize its usage. Additionally, only friends of yours can view your location. You can even get more granular on location authorization by only allowing certain Snapchat users to view where you are at.
Snap reflected on this notion on Twitter:
The first time you enter Snap Map, you choose who to share your location with. We won’t show you on the Map before then!
— Snapchat Support (@snapchatsupport) June 23, 2017
Snapchat described Snap Map privacy features in a blog post that announced this new service offering:
We’ve built a whole new way to explore the world! See what’s happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure!
It’s easy to get started — just pinch to zoom out and view the Map! You decide if you want to share your location with friends, or simply keep it to yourself with Ghost Mode.
If your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map. Actionmojis only update when you open Snapchat.
We hope you enjoy the new Map as much as we do!